Persuadable Purple

a href=”http://obsessivecompulsivegardening.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/picture-0231.jpg”>Picture 023
There are so many purple daylilies and there seems to be more purple tones in my garden when it comes to the daylilies. When I say purple, I do mean all the variations, such as lavender, mauve, violet, magenta, plum, orchid, everything from the reddest blues to the bluest reds!
Purple is neither a hot nor cold color, but when used with warm colors, it seems a cooler color and the opposite seems true, that when used with cool colors it warms things up. It is so versatile, perhaps that is why I am drawn to it. It is why I am easily persuaded to bring home a purple or lavender daylily when I already have so many. Or could it be that it is just a persistent daylily color. :)
I went into a purple frenzy several years ago when I purchased Lexington Lace.
Picture 004
Palace Garden Beauty, good name, as purple is often associated with royalty.
Picture 036
Black Fathom Depths, a great garden plant. I have this one in the garden and in a large pot.
Picture 071
Other great purples, Siloam Artwork, like all the Siloams this is a smaller bloom.
Picture 015
Sassy Sam,
Picture 009
Celestial Shore
Picture 005
Sinister Minister, getting into the red side of purple with this one, but it is a beauty despite the name.
Picture 018
Satin Bird, like it well enough, but it doesn’t show up every year.
Picture 019
Precious Candy
Picture 013
Lake Effect, really pretty and a late bloomer for me.
Picture 008
Picture 025
Wayne’s World, a Curt Hanson daylily,just acquired last year, and the fans have already doubled. It was one of those daylilies that got stuck in my brain, if you know what I mean.
Picture 027
Other Hanson daylilies with that lavender look, First Officer’s Log
Picture 025
Shadow Cabinet, really tall and just wonderful
Picture 002<
I have many older ones with that great color. Grand Palais, has been in my garden a very long time, and it will always stay.
Picture 037
Another classic daylily is Strutter’s Ball
Picture 024
I am planning a road trip this week to Curt Hanson’s place and my sister in law needs to keep an eye on me so that I do not sneak away with yet another lavender daylily. I need to sit for awhile and contemplate which daylilies I will bring home, as I only have two spots remaining in the garden.
Picture 113
I made a list, but that list will go out the window, when I view the fields of wonderful daylilies.
Happy Gardening, and add some purple to your garden!

About obsessivecompulsivegardening

I have a hobby that is simply out of control, but the rewards are so great. Join me in my obsession. Thanks for looking, and enjoy!!!
This entry was posted in Daylilies, Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Persuadable Purple

  1. bittster says:

    They look great and I love your bench. Good luck limiting yourself on your trip, i have enough trouble limiting myself when it’s just a short trip to the local nursery!

Leave a Reply

