Rainy Days and Mondays

Well, rainy days and Mondays do not get me down. I like rainy days, especially seeing how we really need this rain right now, and Mondays are a start to a brand new exciting week of new blooms. Sunday was sunny, living up to its name, and a few daylilies were showing their faces.

Out for early morning pictures of the daylilies that have opened. This daylily is Mendocino, an older daylily that blooms early and has a high bud count, so it’s a keeper. This daylily bed, if I can call it that, is in a field across the street from my house. I was able to cut out a section next to the farmer’s field for my overflow daylilies. I really needed that space. I have 110 different daylilies in this area along with a few other perennials. Oh, I also grow a few vegetables in this space. Tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers are growing here. I have the tomatoes and cucumbers in raised beds. There are also strawberries growing that are so good to have. Over time the daylilies have filled in this area, and I often will dig from this area for anyone that wants a few daylilies. It is a chore to weed it and I try to keep it mulched in with shredded leaves. I used straw one year and it just didn’t work as well as the leaves.

The early morning dew created an interesting effect with cooperation from a spider.

Back to the daylilies. I especially love this one, Radio Rider, a Lambertson daylily that is just beautiful. I visited the Lambertson’s garden in Florida in 2011. Check it out, it is in the Archives , January, 2011, Summer Daylily Tour, the sequel. They have such wonderful daylilies that they had created. It seemed that everything that I love about daylilies would be in one of their creations. I’m not sure if they are still open. Their website has not been updated in some time. I should also note here that if you want to see the Daylily National Convention from 2012 , you can find it in the archives, July 2012, titled Deluge of Daylilies.

Flower beds surround my house. I also have started to enjoy Hostas and they do well in those shaded areas where the daylilies may not bloom well. I also have potted daylilies on a cement patio. I am using every available space. There are just too many daylilies.

Every day a new daylily shows its face. This is Sinister Minister ( what a name!) My minister’s wife visited my garden one summer, and she thought the name was very comical.

Meet Joe Black and Eyes on the Prize. I am noticing a trend here. I do have colors and other traits that catch my eye. These three daylilies are so similar. I do love the dark eye and I love the lavender/purple color. Sometimes the purple trends more to the red side.

A new gateway to the garden. This arch took some doing to put together, but it kept me busy on one of those rainy days. The clematis that I already had there easily took to the arch giving me the effect that I was going for. The arch lights up at night with the solar string lights.

This daylily is Dancing Chevrons. I have it out in the field. It was in my garden at one point, but didn’t do well, so out to the field where it gets a full day of sun. I may have to bring it back to my house.

There are other flowers blooming. The Asiatic lilies are going strong. See, I do have other flowers.

The blackberries are coming on heavy. I planted these three years ago, and it looks like a bumper crop this year. I also find the flowers to be very pretty.

I planted these on the obelisk that the clematis were growing on before I put up the arch. The blackberries seem to like it. These are a thornless variety.

A few more daylilies to look at on this rainy Monday, This is Francois Verhaert.

Above is another form of daylily. This is a double daylily, Truffle Nirvana. So much to love about daylilies.

One more, Black Fathom Depths, it is so adorable. This is a smaller bloom that makes a big impact and is a reliable early bloomer.

Happy Rainy Monday gardening.

About obsessivecompulsivegardening

I have a hobby that is simply out of control, but the rewards are so great. Join me in my obsession. Thanks for looking, and enjoy!!!
This entry was posted in Daylilies, garden blog Ohio, Gardening, hosta, nature, Perennials, summer gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rainy Days and Mondays

  1. John Hric says:

    Lovely garden. Thanks for the tour. The daylilies are fun and the names are sometimes quite amusing.

  2. Linda says:

    I love your garden with all the beautiful daylilies. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  3. Christine Coons says:

    Lovely!

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

  4. Patricia says:

    Your yard is so beautiful! Anxious to see more daylily pictures!

Leave a comment