Eye of the Beholder

DCIM101MEDIADJI_0459.JPG

A view of my roadside garden from above. This is a great way to plan your garden. This picture is from a drone that my daughter was operating. It looks good to me, and it is so great to get that bird’s eye view to examine the lay out. I will have to get another shot of this during peak bloom. Upon examining this view, I will add some ground cover between the stepping stones.

Another view of a daylily. This daylily is Pockets Full of Sunshine. It has that sculpting effect that can be so dramatic. Some like it, it really is in the eye of the beholder.

Let’s examine up close, a few more of the daylilies.

Above is Poly Parrot. Most often it will poly, but not always. Here is one bloom that did poly, and the one behind did not, as the one in the background is showing the typical 6 petals, technically 3 petals, 3 sepals. I like it either way, although there is something special about the poly form.

Pebble in a Pond, good name for this one above. I really like the complex eye zones that is a feature of some daylilies.

Another garden view, closer to earth.

Ruby Spider always shows off in the garden. It is my view that everyone should have Ruby in their gardens.

Although I do love daylilies, I have other lilies in my garden. This is an Asiatic Lily, Orange Art.

A way to view and compare several blooms. The variety is just about endless.

The daylily below is my favorite, in my view, or for at least today. Cindy’s Compulsion. It is a creation of Dan Hansen, Ladybug Daylilies. When I was visiting his garden this one daylily caught my eye. At the time it was in his seedling bed, and he gave me the honor of naming it. It will often throw in that extra petal in the middle. Such a cool color also. So close to blue.

Primal Scream is an award winner from Curt Hanson. This grouping was the FFO, and it was raining heavy the night before, which likely impacted the quality of the blooms. It stands out in front of the lavender that is planted behind it. That was a happy accident, as I really didn’t plan that out. The daylily below is a tall mini bloom. It blooms early in the season. I thought it was Raspberry Pixie, but lately I have decided that it is not. Perhaps it is Little Grapette? I wish I knew. Either way it is a good plant.

Spotted Fever, a nice small double daylily. It consistently doubles for me.

Spring Garden Greetings, it always greets me early in the season.

Below is Doomsday, perhaps the oldest daylily that I have. It was registered in 1956. Things have changed so much. This one was a winner, worthy to be registered. I still like it. Eye of the Beholder.

Many to select from. I have found it easier to live head at the end of the day, rather than deadhead in the morning. It was difficult to do at first, as I had to constantly reassure myself that the bloom will be finished at daybreak. It is nice to have that clean start in the morning.

So beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder. Take time to behold the beauty around us.

Happy Gardening

About obsessivecompulsivegardening

I have a hobby that is simply out of control, but the rewards are so great. Join me in my obsession. Thanks for looking, and enjoy!!!
This entry was posted in Daylilies, garden blog Ohio, Gardening, Lilies, nature, Perennials, summer gardening and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eye of the Beholder

  1. Susan says:

    Your lilies are all really pretty. I like the sculpted ones, I have Bonnie Holley but that was one that didn’t bloom this year. Your small purple lily isn’t grapette I have that one and it’s a plain dark purple. I like live heading now also it’s much nicer in the morning to see the new ones blooming without those drooping old blooms in the way.

  2. Lillie says:

    Gorgeous! I love the idea of using a drone to get another look at the garden from above!

Leave a comment